Atlanta DUI Attorney | DUI Lawyer | DUI Criminal Defense Atlanta
Penalties for DUI in Georgia are substantial. If you have been stopped and arrested for drunk driving, you need an experienced criminal defense lawyer who can help protect your rights.
As your DUI defense attorney, I can implement safeguards for your interests in every phase of the legal process by:
- First by questioning whether there was probable cause to arrest you!
I will also help you with:
- Seeking enrollment in driver intervention programs
- Handling administrative license suspensions
- Seeking lighter, alternative sentencing and community service
- Checking the field sobriety testing and BAC testing used
I can also available to defend you in misdemeanor traffic offenses such as speeding and reckless or careless driving. If a succession of traffic tickets threatens your driving privileges, I can protect your rights.
Alcohol use by persons under age 21 years is a major public health problem. Alcohol is the most commonly used and abused drug among youth in the United States, more than tobacco and illicit drugs1, and is responsible for more than 4,700 annual deaths among underage youth.
Ed Adams is an experienced Atlanta criminal defense lawyer who consistently either wins cases or gets the charges dismissed. If you are facing a possession of alcohol charge, it is important to obtain competent legal assistance as soon as possible. Do not procrastinate because the alcohol charge will not disappear.
If you are facing criminal charges such as murder, act quickly to secure an experienced criminal defense attorney.
Alcohol Offense Representation
At the Law Office of Edward Adams, I promise to use all available resources and tactics to shield you from the harsh effects that are associated with a dui charge.
While many family lawyers are highly qualified in their field, they are not always the best resource for a DUI criminal defense or other alcohol offenses.
The State of Georgia prohibits drivers from operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 percent or above for an adult and .02 for a juvenile. The .08 BAC limit is standard throughout the United States. In addition to this law, there are also separate, lower BAC limits for drivers under the age of 21, and commercial drivers.
Georgia also has an “Open Container Law”. The open container law prohibits a alcoholic beverage container that contains any amount of alcoholic beverage in it from being inside a moving vehicle. This includes containers with broken seals or containers that have had the alcohol partially removed in a vehicle on the roadway or shoulder of any public highway. The fine for violating the open container law is $200.
What are the penalties for a DUI in Georgia?
Dui Jail Time
- 1st DUI Charge 24 hours to 1 year
- 2nd DUI Charge 3 days to 1 year
- 3rd Charge 15 days to 1 year
- 4th Charge 1 to 5 years
DUI Fines and Penalties
- 1st DUI Charge $300 to $1000
- 2nd DUI Charge $600 to $1,000
- 3rd DUI Charge $1,000 to $5,000
- 4th DUI Charge $1,000 to $5,000
- 1st DUI Charge up to 1 year
- 2nd DUI Charge 3 years
- 3rd DUI Charge 5 years
- 4th DUI Charge Indefinitely
Refusal to take DUI Test
- 1st DUI Charge – Suspension of license for 1 year
- 2nd DUI Charge – Suspension of license for 3 years
- 3rd DUI Charge – Suspension of license for 5 years
If YOU HAVE BEEN ACCUSED OF A CRIME BUT HAS NOT YET BEEN CHARGED, CALL US IMMEDIATELY. WE MAY BE ABLE TO PREVENT THE FILING OF FORMAL CHARGES.